Tools and Sources

As a social media student, my interests relate to the emerging new era that Josh Bernof so delicately describes as the groundswell. Based on these three trends – people’s desire to connect, new interactive technologies and online economies (Bernof, 11), I whole-heartedly admit that I am an emerging social media strategist. I love to debate and discuss controversial topics, I enjoy learning how to use new technology to interact with people and I most certainly engage in online communities.

There are two social media listening/monitoring tools I use, one on a regular basis and the other not so much. I recently joined www.ChristianBlog.com; an online community for hardcore Christians to blog about whatever biblical doctrine they feel needs to be discussed. The best thing about this site is that it has given me positive reinforcement regarding not only my writing ability, but also my ability to research, learn from other like-minded individuals and prove my theories regarding biblical doctrine. The other listening/monitoring tool I use on a less frequent basis is www.YouTube.com. I use this site to find recent music that hasn’t yet been downloaded onto other websites, such as www.grooveshark.com.

As I mentioned earlier, I am a student and therefore my interests relay to my studies: social media. This morning I found a social media blog that seemed rather intriguing, www.socialmediaexplorer.com. I also have an interest in wine so I stumbled across this wine blog as well: www.vinography.com.

I want to focus my personal and professional development on the ability to write and strategize how I present content, mainly because I feel I have a voice and recognition of this voice requires strategy. Each and every one of the listed websites above serves a specific and unique purpose in my life. The Christian Blog site has strengthened my inner-self in more ways then I thought was possible. I’ve always been that person who see’s they’re own beauty inside, but for some reason can’t expose it to anyone. This changed when I found this site, others like myself have gathered together share their views, opinions and thoughts. For the first time in my life I felt like I truly had something of significant value. It was something that no one else had, something that made me different and I liked it! As anyone who has taken any sort of psychology class would know, positive reinforcement is crucial to social development. This Christian Blog site is crucial to my social development, because it is strengthening my inner-self by exploiting my passions and desires to express my religious views. In no means do I think I’m a saint, I’m 22 years old and have 3-year-old daughter as matter of fact! By strengthening my strengths even more, I am becoming more mature and knowledgeable on subjects that I find very intriguing. Not to change the subject, but YouTube has also been very beneficial in this sense as well. Did you know that music is healing? Of course you did, it’s 2011 and everyone knows everything! But what I bet you didn’t know is that music and rhythm is four to eight times more effective then tranquilizers (www.polybonk.com)! So now that I’ve shown you two imperative social media listening tools that I use to strengthen my inner-self for no other reason then to become a better person, it’s now time to discuss my professional development. For a while now I’ve known that professional development is an area that requires nurturing of specific talents and natural abilities, but I just didn’t know what specific area I should focus on. Actually, I still don’t to be quite honest, but what I do know is that it relates to the social media field of advertising. The Social Media Explorer site will educate me in my area of professional interest and keep me updated on trendy digital communication methods while the Vinography blogging site will give me a good understanding of a secular online community and a n industry-specific one at that. I actually have a creative idea regarding Wines, Wineries and Wine Tastings and this blog will hopefully further my knowledge of the subject and how others are engaging on the blogosphere.

One response to “Tools and Sources

  1. Thanks for sharing your insights, Leah! Some interesting sites here that I’ll be checking out for sure!

Leave a Reply

